2015 Frontier League All Star Game Managers James Frisbie of Rockford and Dan Rohn of Traverse City have named their starting pitchers for Wednesday’s 2015 Frontier League All Star Game at Schaumburg Boomers Stadium in Schaumburg, IL. Frisbie, who will manage the West Division All Stars, has selected one of his own in RHP Tony Rizzotti of the Aviators, while Rohn has tabbed LHP Matt Bywater of the Southern Illinois Miners to start for the East Division squad.

Rizzotti is in his third season of professional baseball and his first in the Frontier League with Rockford. For the season, Rizzotti has been fantastic for the Aviators, compiling a 5-0 record in 10 starts with a 1.28 ERA and a 2.73 strikeout to walk ratio. His five wins have him tied for third in the entire league in that category, while his 1.29 ERA leads the league by 30 points. Rizzotti, 23, is a native of Arlington, TX and played collegiately at Tulane University in New Orleans. He was drafted twice while in college, once in the 28th round of the 2010 MLB Draft by the Colorado Rockies and again in the 25th round of the 2013 MLB Draft by the San Diego Padres. He would later sign with San Diego and went on to pitch for two seasons in their organization, all at Single A.

Bywater is in his second season with the Miners, and has also put eye-popping statistics during his 2015 campaign.  He holds a record of 6-2 with a 2.40 ERA in 11 starts with his win total good enough to place him second on the Frontier League leaderboard in that category. He has also amassed 84 strikeouts this season to lead the entire league by a wide margin. Bywater also pitched one of the more notable games of the Frontier League season thus far, tossing the 25th no-hitter in Frontier League history on June 12th of this year. It was the second no-hitter in Southern Illinois history, coming one year and one week after current Miner Rick Teasley’s on June 5th of 2014. The Thousand Oaks, CA is in his fifth season of professional baseball overall and was the Brian Tollberg Award winner in 2014, an award given every year to the Frontier League Pitcher of the Year. Before pro ball, Bywater pitched collegiately at Pepperdine University in Malibu, CA. He was a 7th round selection of the Baltimore Orioles in the 2010 MLB Amateur Draft and pitched in their organization for two seasons, also at the single A level, before coming to Independent Baseball.

The 2015 Frontier League All-Star Game is presented by Salvi, Schostok, and Pritchard, P.C. and will take place on Wednesday, July 15 at Schaumburg Boomers Stadium in Schaumburg, Illinois.  For tickets or additional information, please contact the Schaumburg Boomers at 847-461-3695 or visit www.boomersbaseball.com.

The Frontier League is entering its 23rd season in 2015 and features 14 teams stretching from Pennsylvania to Missouri and from Kentucky to northern Michigan. The Frontier League annually advances the most players to MLB organizations of any of the independent leagues, and 27 former Frontier League players have played in the Major Leagues.